Follow

How do I create, change, or delete a view of a list or library?

Create a view

When you look at a list or library, you can temporarily sort or filter the items or files by pointing to the name of a column and then clicking the arrow next to the name. This is helpful if you only occasionally want to see the list or library like this, because you have to repeat these steps the next time that you want to view the list or library this way.

Sort or filter a column

If you frequently have to view information in a list or library a certain way, you can create a view. When you create a view, it is added to the view menu of a list or library.

Select a different view

Change a view (includes select another view)

Use the following steps to change a view, such as making it the default view, adding or removing columns, and changing the sort order of items in the view.

  1. In the list or library where you want to change a view, click the List or Library tab.

  2. Select the view you want to change from the Current View drop-down list.

    Select a different view

  3. Click Modify this View.

    NOTE    If Modify this View is disabled, you don’t have the permissions to modify the current view. You can, however, modify your personal views. For information about the permissions you need to create personal and public views, see Settings for views in this article.

To create a view:

  1. In the list or library where you want to create a view, click the List or Library tab, and then click Create View.

    NOTE    If Create View is disabled, you don’t have the permissions to create a view. For information about the permissions you need to create personal and public views, see Settings for views in this article.

    Create a view in a list

    1. Click the format, such as Standard View, or an existing view that you want to base your view on.

    2. In the View Name box, type the name for your view. Select Make this the default view if you want to make this the default view for the list or library. Only a public view can be the default view for a list or library.

    3. In the Audience section, under View Audience, select Create a Personal viewor Create a Public view.

      NOTE    If Create a Public View is disabled, you don’t have the permissions to create a public view for this list or library.

    4. In the Columns section, select the columns that you want in the view and clear the columns that you don’t want to appear. Next to the column numbers, select the order that you want to columns to appear in the view.

    5. Configure the other settings for your view, such as Sort and Filter, and click OK. For more information about view settings, see Settings for views in this article.

Change a view (includes select another view)

Use the following steps to change a view, such as making it the default view, adding or removing columns, and changing the sort order of items in the view.

  1. In the list or library where you want to change a view, click the List or Library tab.

  2. Select the view you want to change from the Current View drop-down list.

    Select a different view

Click Modify this View.

NOTE    If Modify this View is disabled, you don’t have the permissions to modify the current view. You can, however, modify your personal views. For information about the permissions you need to create personal and public views, see Settings for views in this article.

Delete a view

Use the following procedure to delete a view for a list or library.

NOTE    If Delete is not an option, this may be the default view for a list or library. You must first modify another view and make it the default. For more information about changing a view, see Modify a view in this article.

  1. In the list or library where you want to delete a view, click the List or Library tab.

  2. Select the view you want to delete from Current View drop-down list.
    Select a different view

  3. Click Modify this View.

    NOTE    If Modify this View is disabled, you do not have the necessary permissions to modify the current view. You can, however, modify your personal views. For information about the permissions you need to create personal and public views, see Settings for views in this article.

    Modify a view

    1. In the top area of the view, click Delete.

    2. When prompted, click OK.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk